You are here > Home / Success stories / Crowdfunding

SUCCES STORIES

Crowdfunding in Brussels

What is crowdfunding?

Crowdfunding is a relatively recent form of funding whereby (new) entrepreneurs, organisations and individuals with little or no chance of accessing traditional funding channels are able to raise an initial part of their required funding online from the general public, after which they can more easily approach professional investors such as banks.

Crowdfunding is ideal to reach a large audience, raise capital without landing in financial difficulties and gain an insight into people’s perception of your project.

How do you start?

  1. Keen to fund your professional project via crowdfunding, then you must start by knowing which kind of crowdfunding best suits your initiative:
  • financial crowdfunding based on loans or shares
  • non-financial crowdfunding based on donations and sponsorship or reward

This website provides a good summary of the four different types of crowdfunding.

  1. Once this is known, you can look out for a suitable platform.

As far as financial crowdfunding is concerned, established names include Kickstarter, Spreds, Indiegogo, RocketHub, MyMicroInvest and Bolero.

The field of non-financial crowdfunding is dominated in Belgium by Ulele, KissKissBankBank, Angel.me and Appsfunder.

  1. Put together a good campaign. In most cases, the platform staff will help you in your choice.
  2. You then decide on the amount you wish to raise and a timescale, which tends to be limited to a few months.
  3. As soon as your campaign is launched, you must actively promote your project, both online and offline.
  4. If your project catches on, you will receive donations from people already on the platform or from those that you have actively led towards the platform with your campaign. Such donations are saved in a virtual account until the end of the campaign.
  5. If your crowdfunding campaign succeeds within the deadline and you collect the desired amount, then the money in the account is transferred to your account, less the commission for the crowdfunding platform. If not, all those donating get their money back. In that case you receive nothing, but neither does the platform.

 

Case study

A good example of a successful, non-financial crowdfunding campaign with a social purpose is Operation 15+15+15 by DoucheFLUX, which raised over 15,000 euros in 2016 via KissKissBankBank, a reward-based crowdfunding platform. DoucheFLUX is an organisation that promotes the reintegration of those needing help. They do this with a variety of inclusive services and activities – ranging from free showers to language lessons.

The aim of the campaign was to equip the DoucheFLUX site with ICT material for those in need of help.

Florian Donnet, Account Manager for the French community at KissKissBankBank Belgium & Luxembourg, explains the campaign’s success:

“Operation 15+15+15 was a real hit, primarily because the organisation’s social mission perfectly matches our philosophy. A good match between the platform and project should not be underestimated. I would even go as far as saying that it’s a basic requirement for a successful campaign. If we think that you would be better knocking on someone else’s door with your project, we will tell you that quite clearly.”

Also very important are the enthusiasm of the campaign leader(s) and the look and feel of the project page:

“It goes without saying that a dynamic campaign has a far greater chance of success. You need to think carefully about the visual aspect, be on social media as much as possible, give your followers updates and not be scared about being in the spotlight. It’s a lot of work, but you have more chance of success if those visiting the platform get to know the person behind the campaign,” says Donnet. “Incidentally, with it being so intensive, we limit the campaigns to a maximum of sixty days, depending on the amount to be raised.”

Those visiting the DoucheFLUX project page see a range of rewards in the right-hand margin – the greater the amount donated, the more valuable the reward – however, their value is not necessarily monetary.

“At KissKissBankBank, we work with rewards. We are a cultural, inclusive and innovative platform and therefore attract many donors who support a project because of their beliefs, not because they hope to make a fortune with it. We therefore advise campaign leaders to offer rewards that reflect the nature of the project. This is also what you see at DoucheFLUX which, among other things, offered a subscription to their magazine and an invitation to the inauguration of their new building.”

DoucheFLUX ended up raising 102% of the requested amount. The organisation also recently received a subsidy as part of the Smart City project appeal related to social inclusion. You can read more about this project call here.

 

More information on crowdfunding

More information can be found on the following websites (Dutch/French):

 

 

CLOSED

In 2018, the Brussels-Capital Region is issuing another Next Tech call for projects. The aim is to implement certain measures of the Next Tech Plan, which aims to foster an environment in which businesses in the ICT (Information and Communications Technology) industry are free to emerge and grow.

FOR WHOM?

All companies (start-ups or long-standing, very small or large enterprises), private individuals, non-profit organisations, etc. which are working to support the development of the digital economy in the Brussels-Capital Region.

FOR WHAT PROJECTS?

We are looking for projects that will help build an environment that encourages the creation and growth of Brussels-region businesses working in the information and communications technology industry. The call for projects is focused on the specific implementation of a series of concrete aims and measures from the Next Tech Plan. In 2018, the measures in question are:

– Integrating priority technologies within the public/private hosting bodies

– Brussels as a European hub and a home for innovation

– Raising awareness among women and girls about careers in the ICT industry

– Sales training for entrepreneurs

WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS FOR YOU?

– Special financial support from the Region

– Assistance upon request of all company support services

– Recognition of the success of your project

SELECTION CRITERIA:

As it is a competition, the selection will be based on projects which best meet with the selection criteria and the implementation of measures up until depletion of the available budget. The projects will be judged according to four selection criteria:

– Respect for the objectives of the NextTech call for projects

– The innovative nature of the project in relation to the Brussels business offer

– The technical and economic credibility of the project

– The potential to create economic value and jobs in the Brussels-Capital Region

HOW TO PARTICIPATE?

Send your completed proposal no later than 30 May 2018 at 10 AM to projeteconomie@sprb.brussels.

To access all of the information concerning the call for projects and learn about the steps for submitting a proposal, visit the site: http://werk-economie-emploi.brussels/fr_FR/-/bhj

Closing date: 30 May 2018

Contact: Project Economy

Erreur d'article (404)

Oups, il semble que l'article que vous avez demandée n'existe pas !

Revenez sur la page d'accueil du site

Erreur d'article (404)

Oups, il semble que l'article que vous avez demandée n'existe pas !

Revenez sur la page d'accueil du site

Erreur d'article (404)

Oups, il semble que l'article que vous avez demandée n'existe pas !

Revenez sur la page d'accueil du site

Erreur d'article (404)

Oups, il semble que l'article que vous avez demandée n'existe pas !

Revenez sur la page d'accueil du site

Erreur d'article (404)

Oups, il semble que l'article que vous avez demandée n'existe pas !

Revenez sur la page d'accueil du site

Vous êtes ici > Home / Success stories / Crowdfunding

SUCCES STORIES

Crowdfunding à Bruxelles

C’est quoi l’économie participative ou le « crowdfunding » ?

Le crowdfunding est une forme de financement assez récente grâce à laquelle les entrepreneurs, les organisations et les citoyens qui ne peuvent pas ou qui ont du mal à faire appel aux canaux de financement traditionnels, peuvent collecter une partie du financement nécessaire en ligne, auprès du grand public. Cette étape facilite ensuite le contact avec les investisseurs professionnels comme les banques.

Le crowdfunding, c’est l’idéal pour atteindre un groupe cible important, lever du capital sans se mettre en difficulté financière et obtenir des indications quant à la manière dont votre projet est perçu.

 

Par où commencer ?

  1. Si vous souhaitez financer votre projet professionnel via crowfunding, vous devez d’abord savoir quel type de crowdfunding correspond le mieux à votre initiative :
  • un crowdfunding financier à base de prêts ou d’actions
  • un crowdfunding non financier à base de dons et de sponsoring ou de contributions

Ce site Web offre un bon aperçu des deux différents types de crowdfunding.

  1. Dès que vous avez arrêté votre choix, vous pouvez vous mettre à la recherche d’une plateforme adaptée.

En matière de crowfunding financier, Kickstarter, spreds, Indiegogo, RocketHub, My MicroInvest et Bolero sont des valeurs sûres, parmi d’autres.

En ce qui concerne le crowdfunding non financier, Ulele, KissKissBankBank, angel.me et appsfunder, entre autres, sont des acteurs dominants en Belgique.

  1. Mettez sur pied une bonne campagne. Dans la plupart des cas, vous serez aidé pour cela par le personnel de la plateforme que vous aurez choisie.
  2. Ensuite, vous déterminez le montant que vous souhaitez récolter ainsi qu’un délai pour atteindre cet objectif, généralement limité à quelques mois.
  3. Dès que la campagne est lancée, vous devez promouvoir activement votre projet, tant en ligne qu’au-delà du web.
  4. Si votre projet fonctionne, vous recevrez des donations de personnes déjà présentes sur la plateforme ou de nouveaux membres séduits par votre campagne. Ces donations sont conservées dans un portefeuille virtuel jusqu’au terme de la campagne.
  5. Si votre campagne de crowfunding réussit dans le délai imparti et que vous avez donc réuni le montant souhaité, l’argent du portefeuille est alors versé sur votre compte après prélèvement de la commission de la plateforme de crowdfunding. Dans le cas contraire, l’argent est reversé à tous les donateurs ; vous ne percevrez donc rien, et la plateforme non plus.

 

Cas d’étude

Un exemple réussi de crowdfunding non financier à visée sociale est l’Opération 15+15+15 de Doucheflux qui, en 2016, récolta un peu plus de 15.000 euros via la plateforme de crowdfunding KissKissBankBank. DoucheFLUX est une organisation qui soutient la réintégration des personnes dans le besoin, à travers une série de services et d’activités solidaires – depuis l’offre de douches gratuites jusqu’à celle de leçons de français et d’anglais.

L’objectif de la campagne était d’équiper les locaux de Doucheflux de matériel ICT pour les bénéficiaires.

Florian Donnet (voir photo), chef de projet pour la partie francophone de KissKissBankBank Benelux depuis 2 ans, nous explique le succès de la campagne :

« Opération 15+15+15 » a tapé dans le mille, et cela tout d’abord parce que la mission sociale de l’organisation cadrait parfaitement avec notre philosophie. En effet, une bonne compatibilité entre la plateforme et le projet est un élément qu’il ne faut pas négliger. J’irais même jusqu’à affirmer qu’il s’agit d’une condition de base pour le succès d’une campagne. D’ailleurs, si nous estimons qu’il vaut mieux que vous vous adressiez ailleurs pour votre projet, nous vous le disons sans détour. »

L’enthousiasme des organisateurs de la campagne ainsi que  le look de la page du projet sont également importants :

« Il va sans dire qu’une campagne dynamique aura bien plus de chance de succès. Il faut bien réfléchir à l’aspect visuel, être présent autant que possible sur les réseaux sociaux, fournir des updates à ceux qui vous suivent et ne pas avoir peur de se mettre en lumière. C’est beaucoup de travail, mais vous augmentez vos chances de réussite si les visiteurs de la plateforme peuvent apprendre à connaître la personne qui est derrière la campagne », ajoute Donnet. « C’est précisément parce que c’est un processus aussi intensif que nous limitons la durée des campagnes à un maximum de soixante jours, en fonction du montant à collecter. »

En visitant la page de Doucheflux, on aperçoit dans la marge droite une série de contreparties – plus le montant offert est élevé, plus la contrepartie a de la valeur – mais cette valeur n’est pas nécessairement pécuniaire.

« Sur KissKissBankBank, nous travaillons sur la base de contributions. Nous sommes une plateforme culturelle, solidaire et innovante, et nous attirons donc de nombreux donateurs qui soutiennent un projet par conviction, et pas parce qu’ils espèrent en retirer un profit financier. Nous conseillons donc aux leaders de campagne de proposer des contributions qui reflètent bien la nature du projet.  C’est exactement ce que l’on constate avec Doucheflux qui offre, entre autres, un abonnement à sa revue ou une invitation à l’inauguration de son nouveau bâtiment. »

Au final, Doucheflux a pu récolter 102% du montant demandé. Il y a peu, l’organisation a également reçu un subside dans le cadre de notre appel à projets de Smart City sur le thème de l’inclusion sociale. Vous pourrez découvrir plus sur cet appel à projets ici.

 

Plus d’information sur le crowdfunding

Pour plus d’information, rendez-vous sur les sites Web suivants :

 

 

CLOTURÉ

SMART CITY ET SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE

Les innovations technologiques ont aujourd’hui un grand impact sur les moyens de transport, sur la façon dont nous nous déplaçons et donc sur la sécurité routière aussi. Voitures autonomes, Cruise Control, systèmes de blocage de smartphones dans les véhicules, caméras innovantes… Autant d’exemples de technologies qui contribuent à accroître la sécurité de tous les usagers de la route. Cet appel à projets a donc pour objectif de développer de nouvelles solutions numériques en matière de sécurité routière et de poursuivre le développement de la Région bruxelloise en tant que Smart City.

POUR QUI ?

L’appel à projets s’adresse aux ASBL, entreprises et indépendants présents dans la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale et actifs dans le domaine de la numérisation.

Seront éligibles, sous différentes conditions, des initiatives ou événements se déroulant sur le territoire de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale en 2019 et visant à améliorer la sécurité routière pour tous les usagers de la route dans la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale à l’aide de technologies numériques.

Il sera tenu compte du caractère innovant du projet d’une part, et du Plan d’actions de la Sécurité routière 2011-2020 et ses grands axes d’autre part.

COMMENT OBTENIR UN SUBSIDE ?

Les critères d’éligibilité, les modalités pratiques et toutes les informations utiles pour répondre à l’appel à projets se trouvent dans les documents repris sous le titre « Fichiers à télécharger ».

Vous avez jusqu’au 14 février 2019 inclus pour introduire votre dossier de dossier de demande de subside.

CONTACT

Vous ne trouvez pas toutes les réponses à vos questions dans l’appel à projets détaillé ? Adressez-vous à la direction IT-Coordination du Service public régional de Bruxelles : itcoordination@sprb.brussels.

FICHIERS À TÉLÉCHARGER

Appel à projets (.pdf, 463 ko)

Guide des subventions 2019 (.pdf, 648 ko)

Formulaire de demande de subside (.doc, 244 ko)

Erreur d'article (404)

Oups, il semble que l'article que vous avez demandée n'existe pas !

Revenez sur la page d'accueil du site

Erreur d'article (404)

Oups, il semble que l'article que vous avez demandée n'existe pas !

Revenez sur la page d'accueil du site

Erreur d'article (404)

Oups, il semble que l'article que vous avez demandée n'existe pas !

Revenez sur la page d'accueil du site